Meet your new EPPF Board Members

Meet your new EPPF Board Members

minutes Read

Dear Members


I’m privileged to lead the Fund in its new chapter where we’re again committing to super serving you through our EPPF 2.0 Strategy. The team is busy wrapping up work for the 2023/24 financial year and this has coincided with the appointment of our new board, with effect from 1 June 2024.



I must begin by thanking you for your support and participation during EPPF’s Board of Trustees elections’ process. Now that the necessary checks have wrapped up, I’m pleased to introduce our board that’ll serve until 31 May 2028:


  • Ms Caroline Henry, employer-appointed (Independent board member), Board Chairman 
  • Ms Nazley Sallie, employer-appointed (Independent board member)
  • Ms Natasha Salis, employer-appointed
  • Mr Peter Mashatola, employer-appointed
  • Mr Sincedile Shweni, employer-appointed 
  • Ms Winile Madonsela, employer-appointed
  • Mr Snehal Nagar, employer-appointed
  • Ms Anah Makgopa, member-elected (Bargaining Unit - NUMSA)
  • Mr Deon Jenkins, member-elected (Bargaining Unit - Solidarity)
  • Mr Thandwayinkosi Phillip Goqo, member-elected (Bargaining Unit - NUM)
  • Ms Asanda Penny, member-elected (Non-Bargaining Unit)
  • Mr Modumaele Nthongoa, member-elected (Non-Bargaining Unit)
  • Mr Izak du Plessis, member-elected (Pensioner)
  • Mr Johannes Aucamp, member-elected (Pensioner)


The board comprises 14 non-executive members appointed in terms of the Fund Rules. Eskom appoints seven members including at least two independent experts, and for board members to elect one of them as chair. The other seven are elected by three member-elected constituencies: pensioners, bargaining unit members, and non-bargaining unit members. The new board represents an ideal balance of continuity and fresh perspective, with eight returning members and six new members.


Let me take the opportunity to place on record my sincere thanks to the board members whose tenure ended on 31 May 2024. They served EPPF with diligence and passion, providing us with oversight and guidance. I wish them continued success in their new journeys.


I wish the new board infinite success and fulfilment in service of EPPF’s members. And special congratulations to Caroline Henry on her reappointment as Chairman of the Board. I know that under her stewardship, we’ll continue on our path of sustained growth on behalf of all members.


Kind regards

Shafeeq Abrahams

Chief Executive & Principal Officer

Please rotate your device